Mounds View Alumni News

  • Fulbright Scholar

    Charles Jin Hyuk Lim Olsen, a Mounds View High School and University of Minnesota graduate, was recently awarded a Fulbright Scholarship. He will use the grant offered by the Fulbright U.S. Student Program to study and teach abroad during the 2018-19 academic year. Charles graduated from Mounds View High School in 2013 and went on to study at the University of Minnesota where he graduated in May 2017 with majors in Political Science and Global Studies. As a Fulbright ETA in Cote d’Ivoire, Charles will teach English and use his musical and linguistic skills to develop relationships and explore Ivorian culture.

    Comments (-1)

Alumni Awards and Scholarships

  • Distinguished Alumni Award 
    In 1995, a Distinguished Alumni Award program was established to recognize graduates for outstanding contributions to their community, society, professions or vocations. 

    Nominees must have graduated at least 10 years ago.  

    The nomination process is on-going, but nominations close yearly on May 1. Nominations forms may be picked up at Mounds View or Irondale High Schools or you can download the nomination form here. Completed forms should be sent to Kirsten Dawson at 3558 Ridgewood Court, Arden Hills, MN 55112.

    Nominations may be made without completing an official form, but these must include a letter of support attesting to the qualifications and character of the candidate. 

    Judging and recognition 
    The panel of judges will consist of the Board of Directors of the Mounds View High School Alumni Association. Decisions will be determined by a majority vote of the panel of judges. Those selected will receive their awards at a school ceremony designed to introduce them to the community and school. 

    Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
    2011 Karen Anderson (1960) and Ted Vessey (1956)
    2009 Heidi Collins (1985)
    2006 Duane Condiff (1957) and Kristi Hawkinson Glass (1965)
    2004 Dr. Steve Lentz (1975)
    2003 Lynda A. Morrison (1978)
    2002 Kirsten LeVander Dawson (1960) 
    2001 John Kubiatowicz (1983) 
    2000 Jack Oman (1978) 
    1999 Ellis Ohnstad, posthumously (1958) 
    1998 Joyce Clasen Kloncz (1959)
    1997 Gary Brudvig (1972) and Tom Manuel (1965)  
    1996 Dan Buettner (1978), Steve Buettner (1963) and Nicholas Buettner (1986) 
    1995 Kate Green (1968) and Paul Dye (1977) 


    The Mounds View High School Alumni Association Scholarship 
    In 1987, the first scholarship was awarded in the amount of $500 in what has become an annual presentation. In 2013, the amount was raised to $1,000. 

    Alumni Association Scholarship Recipients (with alumni parents' names and graduation year in parentheses)
    2018 Rosemarie Lam
    2014 Elin Enrooth
    2013 Mason Zilka (Brad Zilka, 1972)
    2010 Jacy Christenson (Tod Christenson and Kimberly King Christenson, 1976 and 1977)
    2007 Katie Queensland (Jane Eram, 1975)
    2006 Charles Pokora (Kathy Halweg, 1974)
    2005 Kathleen Woolfrey (Scott Woolfrey, 1976) 
    2004 Jessica McEwen (Mike McEwen, 1973) 
    2003 Bethany Nagan (Greg Nagan 1972 and Sheri Bruce 1976) 
    2002 Emily Resch (Laurie Peterson and David Resch, 1970) 
    2001 Ben Dahl (Suzanne Fjellman Dahl, 1970)
    2000 Amy Bruce (Brian G. Bruce, 1972) 
    1999 Kari Knutsen (Vicky Anderson, 1970) 
    1998 Kari Fenderson (Ann Erickson, 1973) 
    1997 Phoebe Larson (Mary Schweppe and Bert Lawson, 1965) 
    1996 Marlene Kaiser (Betty Raiolo, 1963) 
    1995 Sarah Riter (Dick Riter, 1961) 
    1994 Karin Thorn (Margaret Bauer, 1964) 
    1993 Anthony Riter (Dick Riter, 1961) 
    1992 Wendy Westberg (Sharon Holmberg, 1964) 
    1991 Terri Snitker (Nancy Ellenwood, 1964) 
    1990 Brenda Peterson 
    1989 Melissa Rysgaard (John Rysgaard, 1962) 
    1988 Eric Anderson (Neal Anderson, 1956) 
    1987 Patrick Martin (Jewell Perry, 1963) 

Have news to share?