Return to Headlines

Top 5 District for National Merit

District seniors are among about 16,000 semifinalists named as part of the annual academic National Merit Scholarship competition. The 15 Mounds View High School seniors and one Irondale High School senior were selected based on scores earned on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). They will compete for more than 7,500 scholarships worth more than $32 million, to be awarded this spring. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Top 5 for National Merit









Mounds View High School 2018 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists

Benjamin Chen, Justin  Duffy, James Hong, Jeffrey Hu, Alex Li, Kaitlin Manning, Jason Min, Aaron Norlinger, Madeline Pape, Andrew Seong, Ravindra Singh, Emily Su, Simon Tran, Yuha Yoo and Felix Zhang. The following were named Commended students for placing in the top 50,000 scorers: Nandini Avula, Anders Bandt, Isabella Chaffee, Akhil Chandra, Nathan Chau, Derek Chen, Gayathri Dileepan, Brian Foran, Collin Frink, Daniel Frink, Cody Lachinski, Tyrus Martin, Matthew McNamara, Jacob Nelson, Fatima Rahman, Katherine Sheldon, Michael Simms, Morgan Termaat, Daniel Zamow and Derek Zhu.

Irondale High School 2018 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists

Kaitlyn Dobbins was named a National Merit Scholar Semifinalist. The following were named Commended students for placing in the top 50,000 scorers:  Sophia Alvarez, Sarah Chock, Alyssa Gahr, Samuel Hertzel, Chloe Lipinski, Ryan Nguyen, Rosalie Ruetz and Samuel Walker. Sophia Alvarez was named National Hispanic Scholar in the Commended category.