Return to Headlines

Distinguished Alumni Award

In 1995, a Distinguished Alumni Award program was established to recognize graduates for outstanding contributions to their community, society, professions or vocations. 

Nominees must have graduated at least 10 years ago.  

The nomination process is on-going, but nominations close yearly on May 1. Nominations forms may be picked up at Mounds View or Irondale High Schools or you can download the nomination form here. Completed forms should be sent to Kirsten Dawson at 3558 Ridgewood Court, Arden Hills, MN 55112.

Nominations may be made without completing an official form, but these must include a letter of support attesting to the qualifications and character of the candidate. 

Judging and recognition 
The panel of judges will consist of the Board of Directors of the Mounds View High School Alumni Association. Decisions will be determined by a majority vote of the panel of judges. Those selected will receive their awards at a school ceremony designed to introduce them to the community and school. 

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
2011 Karen Anderson (1960) and Ted Vessey (1956)
2009 Heidi Collins (1985)
2006 Duane Condiff (1957) and Kristi Hawkinson Glass (1965)
2004 Dr. Steve Lentz (1975)
2003 Lynda A. Morrison (1978)
2002 Kirsten LeVander Dawson (1960) 
2001 John Kubiatowicz (1983) 
2000 Jack Oman (1978) 
1999 Ellis Ohnstad, posthumously (1958) 
1998 Joyce Clasen Kloncz (1959)
1997 Gary Brudvig (1972) and Tom Manuel (1965)  
1996 Dan Buettner (1978), Steve Buettner (1963) and Nicholas Buettner (1986) 
1995 Kate Green (1968) and Paul Dye (1977)